911 Public Safety Telecommunicator Program
All certifications obtained prior to August 1, 2012 expired February 1, 2013. If the certification was not renewed by February 1, 2013, it automatically reverted to 'involuntary inactive' status. Certifications in 'involuntary inactive' status can still be renewed within 180 days from the expiration date, provided the certificate holder meets renewal requirements and pays an additional $50 late fee. (§401.465(2)(f) F.S.)
To be eligible for renewal certification as a public safety telecommunicator, the applicant shall submit Form DH 5068 and complete 20 hours of public safety telecommunicator training based on the Department of Education's Public Safety Telecommunication Curriculum Framework.
The department shall accept either the affirmation from a public safety agency as defined is s.365.171, Florida Statute, or a certificate of completion of 20 hours of renewal training from a department-approved 911 public safety telecommunicator training program.
Initial Certification Requirements
To obtain initial certification as a public safety telecommunicator, an individual must complete a state approved 911 PST training program, pass the state exam, then submit an Initial Application (form DH 5066 ). (§401.465(2)(d), F.S.)
PST's and state-certified Firefighters: (§401.465(2)(j), F.S.)
If a person was employed as a 911 public safety telecommunicator or a state-certified firefighter before April 1, 2012, he or she must pass the state exam. Upon passage of the examination, the completion of the public safety telecommunication training program shall be waived.
The requirement for certification as a 911 public safety telecommunicator is waived for a person employed as a sworn state-certified law enforcement officer, provided the officer:
- Is selected by his or her chief executive to perform as a 911 public safety telecommunicator;
- Performs as a 911 public safety telecommunicator on an occasional or limited basis; and
- Passes the department-approved examination that measures the competency and proficiency of an applicant in the subject material comprising the public safety telecommunication program.
The examination fee is waived for sworn law enforcement officers who wish to take the examination under this exemption.
A sworn state-certified law enforcement officer who fails an examination taken under this section must take a department-approved public safety telecommunication training program prior to retaking the examination. This course can be found at http://www.fdle.state.fl.us/Content/getdoc/ae4b3997-9f8f-4571-8acd-e4d00cdf8d2d/911-Page-(2).aspx .
To take the state exam, individuals must submit an exam application with appropriate documentation and fees. Applicants will receive an approval to test letter with instructions on registering for the exam.
|Exam Schedule||Registration||Study Guide|
|May 2013||Schedule my exam||911 Basic Recruit Curriculum|
There are currently a total of 163 department approved 911 public safety telecommunication training programs throughout the State of Florida.
Any agency/school wishing to become a department approved training program shall submit form DH 5067, 911 Public Safety Telecommunicator Course Equivalency Application with supporting attachments. The training program shall consist of not less than 232 hours and must follow the Department of Education's Public Safety Telecommunication Curriculum Framework..
All training programs expire 2 years from the approval date. To renew a training program, the training program shall submit form DH 5067 not less than 60 days prior to their current training program's expiration date.
- Exam Fee - $75
- Initial Certification Application Fee - $50
- Renewal Certification Application Fee - $50
- Reactiviation Fee (late renewal) - $50
- Reactivation Fee (from voluntary inactive status) - $50
- Replacement Card Fee - $25
- Name Change Fee - $25
- Public Safety Telecommunication Course Equivalency Application - $50
Florida 911 Public Safety Telecommunicator Certification Statute 401.465
Florida 911 Public Safety Telecommunicator Certification Administrative Code 64J-3
Florida Department of Management Services
Florida Online Sunshine
Law, Public Safety & Security Career Cluster Curriculum Frameworks
Florida Department of Education/Commission for Independent Education
Florida Police Chief's Association
Florida Sheriff's Association
Florida Emergency Preparedness Association
Florida Association of Public Safet Communications Officials (APCO)
Florida National Emergency Number Association (NENA)
Under Florida Law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.
If you need assistance or have questions regarding 911 Public Safety Telecommunicator Certification, please contact the 911 Public Safety Telecommunication Program at: (850) 245-4440, or the following individuals:
Phone: (850) 245-4440 ext. 2725
Email: Rebecca Cash
Phone (850) 245-4440 ext. 3901
Email: Wendy Parkinson
Hillary Kaye (certification/recertification)
Phone (850) 245-4440 ext. 2743
Email: Hillary Kaye