will require the free Adobe Reader
Apply Online for Licensure: Eliminate mailing time and expedite your application! Apply online, using your user id and password, and receive a response within 10-13 business days!
Continuing Education: Click here for information regarding continuing education requirements for certification and recertification. It is also strongly recommended that you review all of the laws and rules regulating this profession.
All EMT and paramedic certification applicants must take and pass the state required examination to become Florida certified. Both exams are computer based. The required EMT exam is developed by the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians and the paramedic examination is state-developed. Prior to receiving Florida certification, each applicant must pass the Florida approved examination. Only exam scores taken after the applicant has applied to Florida and received eligibility will be accepted for Florida Certification.
- EMT candidates who received their training at a Florida approved EMT program will take the NREMT certification examination.
- EMT candidates who are currently certified in good standing by another U.S. state or territory or by NREMT will take the NREMT written basic assessment exam
- Paramedic candidates will take the state-developed examination.
Fees must be submitted with your application and request for exam scheduling. Fees are payable to Department of Health or Medical Quality Assurance (MQA). Application fees are non-refundable. A money order or cashier's check should be submitted.
|EMT Certification Application Fee||$35.00|
|Exam Fee||$70.00 exam fee to the NREMT|
|Paramedic Certification Application Fee||$45.00|
|Exam Fee||$40.00 exam fee to the Vendor|
|EMT Refresher Equivalent Exam Fee||$70.00 (payable to NREMT)|
|Paramedic Refresher Equivalent Exam Fee||$40.00 (payable to the vendor)|
Make checks payable to the "Department of Health" (DOH). Or Make certified checks or money orders payable to: "Department of Health" (DOH)
Applicants and licensees are responsible for the fees outlined in applicable board or department rule at the time an application is received.
|MISSION:||To protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.|
|VISION:||To be the Healthiest State in the Nation|
|PURPOSE:||To protect the public and make Florida the healthiest state in the nation through health care licensure, enforcement, and information.|
|FOCUS:||To be the nation's leader in quality health care regulation.|
|VALUES:||I CARE (Innovation, Collaboration, Accountability, Responsiveness, Excellence)|