Birth Certificate Eligibility
Certificates can only be issued to:
In the case of a deceased registrant, upon presenting receipt of
the death certificate of the decedent, a birth certificate can
be issued to the souse, child, grandchild, or sibling (if of
legal age). The parent or legal representative of any of the
aforementioned persons are permitted to request a birth
certificate of the deceased registrant as well.
Release Birth Certificate—DH Form 1958.
- Registrant (person named on the record) if of legal age
- Guardian or Legal Representative of registrant
- Through Court Order
Did you know… A birth certificate becomes public record 100
years after following date of birth. Anyone may obtain a copy of
the birth certificate after the 100 year timeframe elapses.
Birth Certificate Fees
Copies of Birth Certificates are $12.00 per copy. Additional
copies requested within same transaction may be obtained at a
lower cost. We accept Case, Check, Money Orders, Visa &
MasterCard. Please make payable to DeSoto County Health
Department. Prices subject to change.
Express Certificate Services are available. Vital Check accepts
all forms of credit cards and if necessary, uses United Parcel
Service (UPS) for overnight delivery upon request. Additional
Birth Certificate Applications
The DeSoto County Health Department’s Vital Statistic Office can
provide a birth certificate for anyone born in the State of
Anyone born is the Sate of Florida before 1930 must obtain their
birth certificate from the State Office of Vital Statistics in
State Application for Florida Birth Record
- If the birth record contains errors, it may be possible to
correct the record.
- Depending on the type of correction and the age of the
registrant, documentary evidence may be required to support the
- If the correction is to the name of a minor child, the
signatures of both parents, if listed on the original birth
record, are required.
- A non-refundable fee of $20.00 which includes one
certification of the record is required by Florida law.
APPLICATION FOR AMENDMENT TO FLORIDA BIRTH RECORD
SOLICITUD DE ENMIENDA A UN ACTA DE NACIMIENTO DE LA FLORIDA
APLIKASYON POU FÈ CHANJMAN NAN BATISTÈ
AFFIDAVIT OF AMENDMENT OF CERTIFICATE OF LIVE BIRTH
If there is an important even in the history of any family, a
personalized record of birth or marriage is a great way to
remember the special occasion. Commemorative Certificates are
only issued by the
Florida State Vital Statistics Office. These
certificates are a personalized, legal, certified record of
either a birth or marriage.
Commemorative Certificates include:
Apostille Birth Certificates
- A signature by the current Governor of the State of Florida
- Calligraphy style print
- Suitable size for matting and framing (actual size is 8 ½ X 11 inches)
- Certification by the State Registrar
- Gold embossed State Seal
- Mailing encased to ensure protection
An Apostille Birth Certificate is that which is prepared to give
to a foreign country. The following situations are examples of
when a birth certificate apostille could be required:
For more information, visit
Florida State Vital Statistics
- Transferred by your employer to a foreign country
- Wanting to marry in a foreign country
- Adopting a child in a foreign country
Law (Birth Resulting in Stillbirth)
In 2006, Florida's governor signed into law legislation that
allows for the issuance of a certification for a Certificate of
Birth Resulting in Stillbirth. This law, section 382.0085,
Florida Statutes, is known as Katherine's Law. Florida is the
14th state to implement such a law.
The Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth is not proof of
live birth and may not be used to establish identity. Gestation
must be 20 weeks or more, and there must be a fetal death
certificate on file with the Florida Office of Vital Statistics
in order for a stillbirth certificate to be prepared. The
information included on the stillbirth certificate comes from
the fetal death certificate.
Application and issuance is from the State Office of Vital Statistics only;
County Offices cannot issue this certificate.
brochure is available for the funeral director, physician,
medical examiner, hospital, and parents. For questions, families
should be referred to Kevin Wright at the State Office, (904)
359-6900 ext 1004.
Florida’s Adoption Reunion Registry (FARR)
Florida’s Adoption information center was created by the Florida
Legislature to serve as a clearinghouse in every area of
adoption. It has served more than 90,000 people since opening in
It enables an adult adoptee, birth parent, or sibling to place
his or her name on the registry and to locate other family
members who are also registered.
For more information check their website
Putative Father Registry -
Father’s have Rights too…
The purpose of the Putative Father Registry is to permit a man
alleging to be the biological father of a child to assert his
parentage, independent of the mother, and preserve his rights as
A Florida Putative Father Registry Claim is done without the
consent or involvement of the mother. The registry is where the
putative father claim is filed and recorded. The putative
father’s name is not added to the birth record. Should the child
be placed for adoption, the putative father must be named a
party to the adoption proceedings.
Related forms can be obtained at the
DeSoto County Health
Department. Questions regarding the Putative Father Registry can
be answered by the Adoption Unit, call (904)359-6900, ext. 9001
or on the website at