In Florida, anyone may order a Florida Death Certificate "without
cause of death". A Florida Death Certificate "With Cause of Death"
is confidential by Florida Law and may only be issued as follows:
Death Certificate Fees
- To the decedent's spouse, parent, child, grandchild, or
sibling (if 18 years of age or older).
- To any person who provides a "Will" that has been executed
pursuant to state statute 732.502; an insurance policy or other
document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of
- Or to any person who provides documentation that he or she
is acting on behalf of any of the previously mentioned persons.
- Fifty (50) years following the date of death, "Cause of
death" becomes public information and anyone may obtain a Death
Certificate with this information. Any time period prior to the
fifty years, "cause of death" is considered confidential by
Copies of DeSoto County Death Certificates are $10.00 per copy.
We accept Case, Check, Money Orders, Visa & Mastercard. Please
make payable to DeSoto County Health Department. Prices are
subject to change.
Express Certificate Services are available. Vital Check accepts
all forms of credit cards and if necessary, uses United Parcel
Service (UPS) for overnight delivery upon request. Cost may vary
and additional fees may apply.
Death Certificate Applications
DeSoto County Deaths prior to 1990 and other Florida Deaths can
be obtained through the State Office of Vital Statistics in
Application for Florida Death or Fetal Death Record
Death Record Amendments
If a death record contains errors, it may be possible to correct
the record. All amendments are initiated by the funeral
- Depending on the type of correction, documentary evidence to
support the requested correction may be required.
- A non-refundable fee of $20.00 which includes one
certification of the record is required by Florida law.
Death Amendment English
Death Amendment Spanish
Death Amendment Creole
Apostille Death Certificates
- To amend the medical certification or cause of death section
on the death certificate requires the certifying physician or
medical examiner to complete and file the notarized Affidavit of
Amendment to Medical Certification of Death, DH 434A (2005
Version) or Affidavit of Amendment to Medical Certification of
Death, DH 434 (2004 and prior). This includes not only the cause
of death and manner of death, but also"...the date of death,
hour or time of death or the place of death other than street
- There is no amendment fee associated with a medical amendment;
however, if a certificate of the amended death record is
desired, a fee of $5.00 for the first copy and $4.00 for each
subsequent copy ordered at the same time is required. Questions
on the medical affidavit should be directed to (904) 359-6900,
A death certificate which is prepared to give to a foreign
county is called an apostille. The following situations are
examples of when an apostille death certificate could be
For more information, visit the
Florida State Vital Statistics
- Burying a deceased family member in a foreign country
- Settling an estate of a deceased family member in a foreign