- IMPORTANT INFORMATION
- Director's Message
- News Releases
- Upcoming Events
- SJCHD Balanced Score Card
- Community Dashboard
- PUBLIC HEALTH MOBILE CENTER
- FAMILY HEALTH SERVICES
- Child Dental
- Child Health Clinic
- Women's Health
- Health Education
- Tobacco Control
- Vital Statistics
- Healthy Start
- INFECTIOUS DISEASE CONTROL
- HIV/AIDS Services
- STD Clinic
- ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SERVICES
- Environmental Health Program
- EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS
- Planning and Response
- Home Based Care
- Medical Reserve Corps
- Annual Reports
- Strategic Plan
- Community Health Assessments
- County Health Rankings Report
- OTHER IMPORTANT LINKS
- Nuestros Servicios en EspaŮol
- Employment Opportunities
This office is responsible for the recording and issuance of Birth & Death Certificates.
Birth or Death Certificates are essential to:
- Obtain A Passport
- Obtain a Driverís License/ID
- Enroll in School
- Participate in Sports
- Apply for Federal Assistance
- Military Service
- Veterans Benefits
- Life Insurance Benefits
- Probate a Will
If the Birth or Death occurred in another state, visit CDC Vital Statistics Information
Please be aware that this office Does Not issue a Marriage License, Divorce Decree, Probate, Will or Social Security Card.
Birth certificates are confidential in the State of Florida and can only be issued to the registrant if 18 years or older, parents listed on the birth certificate or guardian with legal guardianship papers.
Application for Birth Certificate (PDF, 20k)
Credit Card Authorization Form (PDF, 118k)
Birth Certification Release Affidavit (PDF, 43k)
Important Birth Certificate Information
Birth certificates are not public record. They only become public records 100 years following birth.
Birth certificates can only be issued to the registrant (child on the birth record) if of legal age, parent, legal guardian, legal representative of one of these persons, or by court order (must provide recorded or certified copy of court order).
If the registrant is deceased, upon receipt of the death certificate, the birth certificate can be issued to the parent, spouse, child, grandchild, sibling, if of legal age, or a legal representative of any of these persons.
Death certificates are public record. Anyone may obtain certified copies excluding the cause of death information.
For death certificates prior to 1990 or death certificates for another county, please visit Department of Health Vital Statistics
Application for Death Certificate (DOC, 53k)
Credit Card Authorization Form (PDF, 118k)
For death certificates from another state visit the CDC Vital Statistic Information
Important Death Certificate Information
Death certificates excluding the cause of death are public record. Cause of death becomes public information 50 years from the date of death. By Florida Law, the cause of death is considered confidential prior to that time.
By Florida Law, certified copies of death certificates which include the cause of death may only be issued to the decedentís spouse, parent, child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age or anyone who provides a will, insurance policy or other documentation that demonstrates their interest in the estate of the decedent or anyone who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the previous mentioned persons, or by court order (must provide recorded or certified copy of court order).
Website: State Bureau of Vital Statistics
If the Birth or Death occurred in another state, visit CDC Vital Statistic Information
New Driver's License Requirements
As of January 1, 2010 there are new document requirements when applying or renewing a Florida Driverís License or Identification Card.
Documents that prove your identity and are required to obtain your FL license/Identification card are signed Social Security Card, residential address and State issued certified birth certificate, certified copy of marriage license if name has been changed.
A certified copy of a Florida birth certificate can be obtained at the St. Johns County Health Department, Office of Vital Statistics. If you have a hospital certificate with the footprints on it or a plain paper copy, these are not recognized as a Florida birth certificate. A computer generated certificate with the embossed State Seal and State File Number is the official certification of birth.
A Florida driverís license or State Identification card expired within 12 months is acceptable identification to obtain your birth certificate.
For information, please visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle
Additional information is also available at www.gogatherget.com
Does our website meet your needs? Please take our Website Satisfaction Survey