TB Reporting Requirements for Laboratories
Laboratories are required by
Florida Statute to report all specimens positive for Mycobacterium tuberculosis, Mycobacterium bovis, or Mycobacterium africanum, within 72 hours of identification, to the health department in the county in which the patient lives or in which your laboratory is located and the Bureau of TB & Refugee Health in Tallahassee. For reporting codes, see Florida Administrative Code 64D-3 (pdf - 141kb).
Who Must Report?
Each person who is in charge of a laboratory which performs cultures for mycobacteria or which refers specimens for mycobacterial cultures to laboratories (other than those operated by the Florida Department of Health), shall report or cause to be reported all specimens positive for Mycobacterium tuberculosis, Mycobacterium bovis or Mycobacterium africanum by telephone or writing within 72 hours from the date of the test result.
What Must Be Reported?
The following information must be reported:
Patient demographic information, including name, address, date of birth, sex, and race
Name and address of submitting physician
Name and address of laboratory performing test
Specimen information, including type of specimen, date of specimen collection, and test(s) performed and result(s)
How Do I Report?
Reports must be submitted to the County Health Department and the Bureau of TB & Refugee Health by telephone, fax or mail within 72 hours of identification.
County Health Department reports should be submitted to the health department in the county in which:
Click here for a list of County Health Department telephone and fax numbers.
Reports should also be directed to:
Bureau of TB & Refugee Health
4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN #A-20
Tallahassee , FL 32399-1717
PHONE: (850) 245-4350
FAX: (850) 921-9906