|Q. When does my license expire?
A. All OT and OTA licenses expire on February 28, 2013.
Q. How long is my license valid?
A. Regardless of when the license is initially granted during the biennium, it will expire on the expiration date of that biennium. It may be that the license is only valid for a few months depending upon when the licensure takes place.
Q. What is a licensure biennium?
A. A licensure biennium is the twenty-four month period between expiration dates. All occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, and occupational therapy continuing education provider licenses expire on February 28 of every odd year. (2009, 2011, 2013…) It is during this time period that the continuing education requirements must be met for each renewal cycle.
Q. What is a renewal cycle?
A. The renewal cycle starts 120 days prior to the expiration date of a license and ends on the expiration date. It is during this time that you receive your renewal notice and when licensees begin sending in their renewal notices and fees to renew the license for the next biennium. It is your responsibility to notify the department of a change of address
Q. How long will it take to process my renewal, especially if I wait to renew until the last minute?
A. It takes approximately 4-6 weeks to process a renewal. If you wait until the end of the renewal cycle to mail your renewal notice and fee, you will not be current on the licensure computer system until the renewal is processed. There may be a period of time that your license will be in delinquent status. Your place of employment may not allow you to work during this interim period; consequently, it is recommended that you mail your renewal in no later than 30 days from the expiration date.
(Note: Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.)
Q. How do I renew if I do not receive a renewal notice?
A. Renewal notices are mailed approximately 120 days prior to the expiration date. It is the responsibility of the licensee to make sure he or she renews on time. If you do not get a notice, chances are that your address is not current on the licensure computer system. These changes can be requested online at our website, fax, mailing a request, or by email. MQA On-line Services account ID and passwords can be found directly on the renewal notice. If you do not receive a renewal notice, the Department can provide you with you account ID and password over the telephone or by email. To receive an account ID and password over the telephone, you should contact the Department at (850) 488-0595 and press menu option 3 and someone will assist you with this information. To receive an account ID and password by email, you can email your request to LicensureServices@doh.state.fl.us. Blank renewal forms are published on the website and may be found through the Current Licensee portion. There is no grace period after your expiration date.
Q. What happens if I do not renew on time?
A. Failure to renew by the expiration date will cause the license to become delinquent. It is unlawful to practice your profession in Florida on a delinquent license. To renew a delinquent license, you must submit the renewal fee plus the delinquency fee. In addition, you must make the following statement along with your check: I affirm compliance with all renewal requirements including continuing education requirements.
Q. What happens if I do not renew my delinquent license by the end of the second biennium?
A. Failure by a delinquent licensee to become active or inactive before the expiration date of the current licensure cycle renders the license null and void without any further action by the board or the department. Any subsequent licensure shall be as a result of applying for and meeting all requirements for initial licensure.
Q. Can I place my license in the inactive category and be exempt from the continuing education requirements?
A. All licensees accrue continuing education requirements, whether active or inactive. You can renew without having the continuing education requirements by requesting to put your license in an inactive status and pay the renewal fee. You may even continue to renew inactive. Understand that the only advantage to placing a license in inactive status is to keep your license from becoming null and void for non-renewal because you do not have to maintain and submit proof of continuing education hours upon renewing. However, when you decide to reactivate to an active status you must complete and submit proof of all continuing education equal to the time you have been inactive, and pay the appropriate change of status fee and reactivation fee.
Q. Do I need to retake the HIV/Aids one hour continuing education requirement I took for initial licensure?
A. No. As long as you have taken one HIV/AIDS course (ex: for initial licensure) no later than your first renewal, you do not have to take repeat HIV/AIDS courses for subsequent renewals.
Q. How much continuing education is required for me to renew?
A. 26 contact hours of approved continuing education are required to renew. This includes one (1) hour of HIV/AIDS education required by section 456.033, Florida Statutes, and two (2) hours of Prevention of Medical Errors education required by section 456.013(7), Florida Statutes, given by a board approved provider, and two (2) hours of a Laws and Rules education course as required in Rule Chapter 64B11-5.001,
Florida Administrative Code (pdf - 50kb), given by a board approved provider. You may access the links for the prevention of medical errors courses (pdf - 48kb) and laws and rules courses (pdf - 24kb).
Q. Where can I find a list of the Board approved providers for continuing education?
A. You may go to www.CEBroker.com to search for CE Providers.
Q. What if a continuing education course that I took is not approved by one of the approved providers listed in the rule or listed at www.CEBroker.com?
A. You as a licensed professional can make the determination if a course is acceptable for OT continuing education. Subsection (5) of rule 64B11-6.001, Florida Administrative Code, states that courses and programs not approved shall be approved as appropriate continuing education if said course or program meets the criteria as specified in rule 64B11-6.001 (pdf - 28kb). The course shall be relevant to the practice of occupational therapy and must be offered for the purpose of keeping the licensee apprised of advancements and new development in occupational therapy, and shall be designed to enhance learning and skills consistent with contemporary standards for occupational therapy practice. The Board of Occupational Therapy Practice and the staff do not approve individual courses.
Q. How many home study hours can I take?
A. Up to 12 hours of continuing education per biennium. However, please note the information regarding approved providers offering Online Interactive courses.
F.A.C. 64B11-5.001, (3) Home Study – A licensee may perform no more than twelve (12) hours of continuing education as home study education per biennium. Home study education is independent study and requires a certificate of completion. Home study education does not include a web-based, satellite transmitted or online instruction program that allows or requires the licensee to interact or communicate back and forth with the instructor during the presentation of the program. Providers Offering Online Interactive Courses (Not counted as homestudy hours) (doc - 77kb)
Q. How many hours of HIV/AIDS education must I take?
A. One hour for renewal. Two hours for initial licensure.
Q. How many hours of Prevention of Medical Errors must I take?
A. Two hours for renewal and for initial licensure. Course must be given by a board approved provider. Course must include:
- A study of root-cause analysis;
- Error reduction and prevention;
- Patient safety; and
- Contraindications and indications specific to occupational therapy management including medication and side effects.
Q. How many hours of Occupational Therapy Laws and Rules must I take?
A. . Two hours for licensure renewal per biennium. Course must be given by a board approved provider.
Q. How long is a contact hour and how does a CEU relate to continuing education hours?
A. One (1) contact hour equals a minimum of fifty (50) minutes. One half (1/2 or .5) contact hours equals a minimum of twenty-five (25) minutes. 1 CEU = 10 contact continuing education hours.
Q. I am an OTA currently enrolled in graduate studies to become an OTR, in an accredited program. Will my studies count for any CE requirements, and how do I calculate the hours?
A. Yes, as long as you are in an approved OT program the courses count. Courses must be relevant to the practice of occupational therapy. Your transcripts would be your documentation. Rule 64B11-6.001(4)(b), Florida Administrative Code (pdf - 28kb), states:
Courses sponsored by a college or university when providing a curriculum for occupational therapists or occupational therapy assistants shall be awarded 10 hours of continuing education credit per semester hour and shall be verified by official transcripts.
Q. I am an OTR currently enrolled in a masters or Ph.D. program in an accredited program. Will my studies count for any CE requirements, and how do I calculate the hours?
A. Yes, see answer above.
Q. How may I be exempt the CE required?
A.The ONLY exeptions from the CE requirements are: 1) Those persons certified for licensure in the second half of the biennium(on or after 3/1/2010, 3/1/2012, 3/1/2014, etc.), are exempt from the continuing education requirements for that biennium, except for the two (2) hour prevention of medical errors course requirement referenced above and required by Section 456.013, F.S., and the one (1) hour of HIV/AIDS education required no later than upon first renewal, as set forth in Section 456.033, F.S.
2) A licensee who is a member or the spouse of a member of the Armed Forces of the United States is exempt from all licensure renewal provisions for any period of time in which the licensee is absent from the State of Florida due to their duties or their spouse's duties with the Armed Forces. The licensee must document with military status to the Board. Additionally, if a licensee returns to the state and the licensure status change occurs within the second half of a biennium (on or after 3/1/2010, 3/1/2012, 3/1/2014, etc.), the licensee is exempt from the continuing education requirement for that biennium. See Rule 64B11-5.0065
Q. May I be Excused from completing some or all of the reuqired CE’s required due to hardship?
A. There are no other Exemptions allowed in the statutes or Rules of the Board. The only other way to receive an exemption from completing CE is to submit a legally written Petition the Board, by requetsting a Wavier of a Board Rule. This MUST be submitted 3-4 months before a licensure renewal deadline to be presented to the Board at one of their quartlery scheduled meetings. These cannot be retroactive after a licensure deadline has passed. This pettion must be filed by the Department and reviewed and approved by the Board attorney prior to submitting on a Board meeting agenda.
Q. How Do I place my license in a Retired status and what does it mean?
A. You must submit a request to place your license in retired status and pay an one-time fee of $50.00. The Board will no longer contact you regarding your license. Retired status does not allow you to continue providing therapy.
Q. How do I Reactivate my Retired license?
A. You must submit a written request to convert your retired license to an active status. To reactivate the license you must pay the same amount as the renewal fee for an active status licensee for each biennial licensure period in which the licensee was in retired status. You must also submit proof of completing 26 hours of CE, including the statutory mandated courses for each biennium the license was in the retired status.
Q. How do I place my license in an Inactive status and what does it mean?
A. You may send in you renewal and request your license to be placed in an inactive status. In this status you must renew your license every two years and pay the current renewal fee, but do not have to validate completion of required renewal CE's. The Board will continue to contact you regarding licensure renewals. Inactive status does not allow you to continue providing therapy.
Q. How do I Reactivate my Inactive license?
A. You must submit a written request to reactivate your inactive license to an active status, pay a $100 reactivation fee and submit proof of completing 26 hours of CE, including the statutory mandated courses, for each biennium the license was in an inactive status, and for the biennium in which you changed your license into an inactive status
Back to Top