For Initial Licensure
Licensees initially licensed within the biennium are exempt from the CE requirements for renewal with the exception of:
- Two (2) hour course relating to prevention of medical errors
For Renewal of License Following Your First Biennium
Every licensee must complete 40 hours of approved continuing psychological education (CE) within the two year licensure period (biennium). The requirements are:
- Two (2) hours of continuing psychological education on domestic violence as defined in Section 741.28, F.S. must be completed every third biennial licensure renewal period. These two (2) hours shall be part of the forty (40) hours otherwise required for each biennial licensure renewal, and may be taken at anytime during the six years preceding the renewal for the biennial in which the credit is due. The licensee shall maintain documentation to substantiate timely completion of these two (2) hours and make said documentation available upon request.
- Three (3) of the forty (40) hours must be on professional ethics and Florida Statutes and rules affecting the practice of psychology. Of those three hours, at least one hour shall be on professional ethics, and at least one hour shall be on Florida laws and rules relevant to the practice of psychology and shall include Chapters 456 and 490, F.S. and Rule Chapter 64B19, F.A.C.
- Two (2) of the forty (40) hours must relate to prevention of medical errors, including a study of root-cause analysis, error reduction and prevention, and patient safety. If the course is offered by a facility licensed pursuant to chapter 395 for its employees, the Board will approve up to one (1) hour of the two (2) hour course to be specifically related to error reduction and prevention methods used in that facility.
- Passage of the laws and rules examination of the Board constitutes forty (40) hours of continuing education credit, including credit for professional ethics and Florida Statutes and rules affecting the practice of psychology. Passage of the laws and rules examination, however, does not satisfy the requirement for the two (2) credit hours of continuing education on domestic violence required every third biennial licensure renewal period, or the requirement for two (2) hours relating to prevention of medical errors.
See Rule 64B19-13, FAC to review continuing education guidelines for Psychologists
To view approved CE providers and/or to submit CE credits for free, please visit our CE tracking system’s (CEBroker) website. CE links and information can also be found on our continuing education pages.The licensee shall retain the certificates of attendance or other records for 4 years for documentation purposes, in case of audit.
|MISSION:||To protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.|
|VISION:||To be the Healthiest State in the Nation|
|PURPOSE:||To protect the public and make Florida the healthiest state in the nation through health care licensure, enforcement, and information.|
|FOCUS:||To be the nation's leader in quality health care regulation.|
|VALUES:||I CARE (Innovation, Collaboration, Accountability, Responsiveness, Excellence)|