The Official Website
Florida Vital Records
To protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.
Vital Statistics consists of official records of birth, death, fetal death, marriage, and dissolution of marriage (divorce).
Vital records are used by every day citizens in transacting normal business and personal activities.
You might need your child?s birth record for childcare, for school registration, to play sports, to apply for scholarship dollars, etc.
You may need your own birth record to get married, to obtain insurance, to travel, etc. Death records are needed for families to close out estates, to claim social security benefits or to be aware of any medical issues that need to be noted for future generations, for tracing one?s family roots, etc. Marriage and divorce records are needed for many business transactions and with the implementation of the
REAL ID, these documents becoming increasingly important if you need to renew a drivers? license.
In addition, the statistical data from these records are of great value to public health and other state agencies. When you hear a news report that heart disease is the number one cause of death, teenage pregnancies are decreasing, or that people are not having as many births as in years past, you should be aware that all of this information comes from vital records. The need for accurate statistical data on epidemics and the causes of death was instrumental in establishing our present day vital statistics registration system.
If You Wish To Order A Certificate
The Bureau of Vital Statistics is committed to providing the highest quality and most expeditious service possible.
Computer generated certifications ordered by mail with a check or money order for birth records (1917-present), deaths records
(2007 - present), marriage and divorces reports (1970 - present) are processed within 2 to 3 days after receiving the order.
Photocopies in lieu of computer certifications or for years of events prior to those above are processed within approximately 5 days.
These response times may vary based on any special circumstances. If you require faster delivery or if you wish to purchase using a credit card, we recommend contacting our contracted vendor, VitalChek.
Only those individuals named on a Florida birth certificate and those persons defined as authorized to receive cause of death
information are eligible to request and receive the document. Misstating an identity, your relationship or who you represent,
or assuming the identity of another person is subject to criminal penalties as defined in s. 382.026, Florida Statutes.
The penalties for such a felony may be imprisonment not to exceed 5 years or a fine of $5,000 or both.
Not born in Florida? Did a family member pass away in another state? Click the link below to find contact information for other states.
If You Wish To Order A Certificate By Credit Card
The Bureau of Vital Statistics uses the VitalChek® Network as our ONLY contracted vendor to accept mail, phone, fax and internet orders billed to a credit card. Go to the website or speak with a customer representative to place your order by telephone at 1-877-550-7330. If you should experience problems with the online ordering, please call the toll free number for assistance. Service and delivery fees may apply.
If you elect to use another vendor:
There are many other vendors on the internet. If you elect to use another vendor, you will pay an additional fee to that vendor
without receiving any additional services.
The Florida Bureau of Vital Statistics has no control over what services and fees other Internet vendor offer and charge, nor can we guarantee the confidentiality of any vital record data provided to vendors other than VitalChek®.
If you have ordered through another vendor and have experienced a problem in obtaining the record ordered, you will need to contact that vendor directly. If you believe an Internet vendor's website provides inaccurate information about service or fees, you may wish to consider reporting to the State Attorney's office OR a consumer protection agency in the state where the vendor is located.