To protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida
through integrated state, county, & community efforts.
Information for New Parents
A lot of things have changed in your life recently.
To assist in making things easier, we have created this section especially for
you, the new parents. Below you will find links to documents and entities
that you may need as you begin your journey as new parents.
Child's Birth Certificate
You will not
automatically receive a certification of your childs birth record. Parents must apply for the birth certification. The hospital may provide you
with a record of your child's
birth, however, this document is not an official certified copy of the original
birth certificate. Parents can obtain a official birth certification from the
state office or from any county health department vital statistics office. Fees vary throughout the
state, so it is a good idea to verify the fee prior to submitting the request.
Please provide either a signed letter of request,
or an application with appropriate fees. Applications are accepted in person or
by mail at the State Bureau of Vital Statistics, or by phone at (877)550-7330.
All signed letters of request, or applications
must include a copy of a valid current PICTURE ID (driver's license, state
identification card, passport, and/or military identification card) of the
send original documents.
For example: If you are requesting your child's
certificate, include a copy of your own ID since you are the applicant. Enlarge
the copy and lighten it as much as possible to ensure it is clear and readable
when sent to the State Bureau of Vital Statistics. Signature and
relationship/eligibility must be stated. If legal guardian, please include
notarized guardianship documents.
Computer Certification - $9.00
(State Office Only)
- $4.00 ea. when ordered at the same time.
Commemorative Certification -
(State Office Only)
the current Governor and certified by the State Registrar.
(Prices for Certifications May Vary from County to County)
Adding The Father To The Birth Record
Acknowledgement of Paternity (Form DH 432 )
(English 680kb pdf - must print on legal size)
Acknowledgement of Paternity (Form DH 432S)
(Spanish 740kb pdf -must print on legal size )
Acknowledgement of Paternity (Form DH 432H)
(Creole 660kb pdf -
must print on legal size )
In most cases, the Social Security Card for your
child should arrive at your address in four to six weeks. In the event it does not,
do not contact the hospital. You must contact the
Social Security Administration directly.
Social Security Administration Website (Newborns and Children)
Florida's Healthy Start Site
The Poison Control Hotline 1-800-222-1222
Your County Vital Statistics Office can assist you
with any and all forms and, in most cases, can issue your child's birth
certificate in the same day.
County Vital Statistics Office (130K pdf)
Have You Recently Contacted Us? How Was Our Service?
Take Our Online Satisfaction Survey
Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records.
If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public
do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by
phone or in writing.
us at VitalStats@doh.state.fl.us