Official Website of
To protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida
through integrated state, county, & community efforts.
Additional Birth Certificate Information
The birth you are interested in
must have occurred in Florida. Birth certificates that are
less than 100 years old are not public records.
Read the statute
If the person for whom the record is filed is
deceased, upon receipt of death certificate, the birth certification can be mailed to the spouse, child, grandchild, sibling, if of legal age, or a legal representative of any of these persons as well as to the parent.
State law did not require birth registration until 1917, but the State Office of Vital Statistics has some records on file dating back to 1865. Primarily, six registration areas recorded most birth events during the early years. They were: St. Augustine, Pensacola, Tampa, Ocala, Orange County, and Key West.
Original birth certificates for adopted persons cannot be obtained in this manner, please contact the Adoption Unit at (904) 359-6900, extension 9001 for specific instructions.
Child named on record must be 18 years of age or older Children under the age of 18 must have a notarized affidavit from parent authorizing Office of Vital Statistics to release a certification to the child OR be emancipated. Under the provisions of Florida law a child is emancipated if (1) he or she is legally married or (2) has an order from a court of competent jurisdiction.
Florida law restricts the issuance of birth certificates, therefore proof of identity is required to prove eligibility. Acceptable forms of identification are Driver’s License, State Identification Card, U. S. Passport, or Military Identification Card.
Court order from any court of competent jurisdiction. The order must include language that states your name as the recipient of the birth record for and the full name of the child named on the birth certificate and the date of birth of the child. The court order must be signed by a judge and contain the seal of the court. A court order does not exempt the payment of the fee required for the certification.
Birth certificates become public records 100 years following the birth.
Read the statute
Limited records were recorded from 1865 to 1917. All of the 67 county health departments can issue computer certification of the birth certificate between event years of 1930 to present. See alphabetical listing of offices:
County Health Departments
Computer Certification is an
abstract of the original birth certificate and is accepted as legal proof of
birth and citizenship.
It measures 8.5 x 11.
Photocopy Certification is a photocopy of the original birth certificate completed at the time of birth. The paper measures 8.5 X 11 but the actual image may vary.
is a personalized legal certification of the birth certificate of a native
style certification is signed by the current governor, certified by the State
Registrar, and is suitable for matting and framing. The
actual size is 8.5 x 11 and contains the gold embossed State Seal.
are special certifications requested by foreign governments
as proof of citizenship and lineage, often required when requesting dual citizenship or
claiming property rights in a foreign land.