
Florida Department of Health in St. Johns County
Office of Vital Statistics

200 San Sebastian View
St. Augustine, FL 32084

YEAR (4 DIGIT)

(  

(   )

Number of Florida Death Certifications Ordered  (Cause) @

Number of Florida Death Certifications Ordered  (Without Cause) @

~ To Order By Mail: Pay by Money Order, Cashier's Check OR $10.00

______________ ______

ID #
Cash__ Visa__ Amex__

End _________________ Cashier Ck # ________________

End _________________ AFS:_________________________________

Hours of Operation: Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. 
904-506-6081, x6092

Safety Paper Numbers

Any death event that occurred before 2009 Office of Vital Statistics P.O. Box 210 Jacksonville, FL 32231

each$10.00

STATEALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER CITY

$10.00

SECTION A:  DECEDENT INFORMATION

Money Order# ______________

MasterCard__

APPLICATION FOR A FLORIDA DEATH RECORD
Florida Department of Health in St. Johns County

Total Owed

CDR/DR: ___________

ZIP CODE

and  THEIR RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT

SECTION B:  APPLICANT (adult requesting certificate) INFORMATION

If requesting cause of death, all applicants must state their relationship to the decedent; if a funeral director or an attorney, you must enter the 

relationship of the person you represent.  Eligibility requirements are provided on the back of this form.
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANTFIRST, MIDDLE, LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX)Applicant’s Name

TYPE OR PRINT

Read the FRONT AND BACK of this application:  Anyone may apply for a death certification. When cause of death information is 

requested and the death occurred less than 50 years ago, a valid photo identification must accompany this application or if  a mail request, a 

copy of the valid photo identification, front and back, MUST be provided; AND the applicant OR person being represented must be an 

eligible person as outlined in statute (see Eligibility the on the back of this form).  Relationship to the decedent must be entered in the space 

provided at the bottom of this form when requesting cause of death.  If applicant is a funeral director or an attorney, see additional 

information under Eligibility on back of this form to ensure proper completion of this application.  

Acceptable forms of valid ID are:  Driver’s License, State Identification Card, passport, and/or military ID card.  When requesting a death 

certification without cause of death occurred over 50 years prior to the request, photo identification is not required.

MIDDLE

Discover__

FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY

EXP. DATE: 

ALIAS NAME (IF APPLICABLE)

IF MARRIED FEMALE, MAIDEN SURNAME (if known)

PLACE OF DEATH

MONTH

PLACE OF DEATH COUNTY STATE FILE NUMBER (if known)

MIDDLEFIRST

SEX

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, 

or on any application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a 

felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

FUNERAL HOME NAME

(if known)

PLACE OF DEATH CITY OR TOWN 

SUFFIX

Indicate range of years to search

FIRSTNAME OF SURVIVING SPOUSE AS 

RECORDED ON DEATH RECORD

(if applicable and if known)

DATE OF DEATH
ADDITIONAL YEARS TO BE SEARCHED

(Required only when exact year of death is not  known)

LAST (Maiden, if applicable) SUFFIX

NAME OF DECEDENT

DAY

LAST

NAME OF PERSON REPRESENTED 

each

HOME PHONE NUMBER MAILING ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT. NO., IF APPLICABLE) RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

 (if known)

LICENSE/ BAR NUMBER

*All Mail Orders Require $10.00 Mail Fee
download from website VS Credit Card Authorization Form (NO Personal Checks)

W/O Cause: Beginning______________________

Cause: Beginning__________________________

Grand Total

Funeral Director/Attorney as Applicant for Cause 

of Death Information

~ Mail to: Vital Statistics, 200 San Sebastian View, Suite 1322, St. Augustine, FL 32084

DH 1961, 06/2013, Florida Administrative Code Rule 64V-1.0131 (Obsoletes Previous Editions)



ELIGIBILITY:  

1. Decedent’s spouse or parent;

2. Decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age;

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE:  Applicant’s signature is required, as well as his/her name, valid residence address and telephone 

number.

INFORMATION NEEDED:  A search cannot be made without the decedent’s name and year of death.  If any of the other items 

requested on the front of this form are unavailable, other identifying information (such as parents’ names, birthplace, etc.) may 

be helpful if multiple records are found for common names.

A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional 

license number, and the name and relationship of the person they are representing, if requesting cause of death.  If 

not representing someone identified above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a completed 

Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959) must accompany this request.  SPECIAL NOTE:  

Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record with cause of death information included when filing probate.

Requests for a death certification that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility, or 

a notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959), which is available upon request.  If after 

reading the above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our 

office (904) 359-6900 extension 9000 for assistance.

4. Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named 

persons.

3. Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in 

the estate of the decedent;

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION:  Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any 

applicant.  Death records less than 50 years old with the cause of death information included may only be issued to 

the following individuals:

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH:  Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a death certification without the cause of 

death.

AVAILABILITY:  Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however, it was many years before we had 

consistent registration.  While there are some records on file dating back to 1877, not all events were registered.

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DEATH RECORD APPLICATION

Florida Department of Health in St. Johns County

200 San Sebastian View, Suite 1322

St. Augustine, FL 32084

ONLINE REQUESTS: Start an order online with our contracted vendor, VitalChek.com or call toll free 1-866-230-6769
Please visit our website at StJohns.FloridaHealth.gov and select Certificates.

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT TO:

MAIL REQUESTS: Mail the completed application, money order or credit card authorization form (available on our website) with 

valid photo identification. ALL certifications are sent via Federal Express ONLY. The $10.00 mail fee must be included 

with your payment (NO PERSONAL CHECKS)

DH 1961, 06/2013, Florida Administrative Code Rule 64V-1.0131 (Obsoletes Previous Editions)
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